Thursday, November 13, 2008

Connect 4 Round 11

Round 11: What should be the Readers' next move?
Column A
Column B
Column C
Column D
Column E
Column F
Column G
Free polls from


David said...

Red is guaranteed a victory if it gets deadlocked in column G. The important thing is to stop any potential black strings of four on the top left, thus column B or E are the best plays. Column F is useless because the game will never get to checker position #3 on Column G. Simple patience by the readers wins this game.

MCR said...

yeah play defensively at this point. if we fill all the non-column G circles, it works out that black has to play first in column G, and red gets the win.

QuadSevens said...

Column F!!!

If the writers take column F right now, they are guaranteed a win in two moves. Column F gives them two winning spots in Column G! This is same thing mcr was suggesting for us a couple rounds ago. We need to block this right now, or we will lose.

Column F for defense. Once we hit round 13, we can use both moves in column C and win.


QuadSevens said...

I need a little clearification of the adjusted rules. I know that in Round 14, the readers get two consecutive moves. But will the writers get one move in Round 14 before we get our two moves?


Eric Karros said...

I guess it was written a little unclearly. If Round 13 ends with no winner, the Writers will get their 1 move in Round 14, then the Readers will move twice. Not sure if it'll matter though...

QuadSevens said...

True. And I just realized that column F doesn't really matter because spot 2 in column G gives us a win. Delay, delay, delay, for round 14.

Neeebs (The Original) said...


Why in the world would you propose Column F.

If we play column F, then Black will block our diagonal four row run, thus virtually assuring a deadlock.

We want to let Black be forced to use its turn to fill Column F so we can get the victory.

Or...we can fill column F on our two move round fourteen with a Victory.



QuadSevens said...

Yeah...Column F doesn't really matter. We have multiple ways to win when we get our two moves. Both moves in column G will win. Both moves in column C will win as well. With one move in column A before round 14, we'll also be able to win there with two moves.

I misread the board earlier. Looks like A is winning anyways.