Wednesday, March 25, 2015

It's Time for SoSG Softball

This year's model. You'll look smashing in it!

The SoSG softball team needs you! We play to have fun — no pressure to win or anything (just check our past results).

Click here to register. Event is Saturday, April 11, at Big League Dreams in West Covina. Proceeds benefit the Los Angeles Mission. All players get a bitchin' SoSG T-shirt!

Tuesday, March 24, 2015

Puig No Longer Highest-Paid Cuban on Dodgers

Hector Olivera, Dodgers reportedly agree to 6-year, $62.5 million contract (Eric Stephen, True Blue LA)

photo by Kevork Djansezian/Getty Images

Monday, March 23, 2015

Killeen Does Kershaw

Sunday, March 22, 2015

Dodgers Sign Another Cuban


Dodgers To Sign Cuban Pitcher Pablo Millan Fernandez

thanks to Roberto Baly for the YouTube link

Friday, March 20, 2015

Johnny Blanchard Breaks Down the Dodgers' Non-SNLA Schedule for Us

So the Dodgers' Time-Warner impasse bullshit remains unresolved, but loyal SoSG reader (and softball stud) Johnny Blanchard has given some thought to Dodger games on other channels. Take it away, Johnny!

So, obviously, no deal is going to happen ever, so we're back in the 80s or 70s or back to the Z Channel for home games I believe. Or Wally George is stepping aside for some meaningless regular season games on KDOC. Here's the nuts and bolts:

So, here's the Dodgers TV schedule.

Note: It doesn't have the non-Dodger teams' broadcasts on it.

Here's the MLB "National Broadcast" schedule.

Note: There are 29 games on here for the Dodgers, but only 7 games are non-MLBN games (and thus viewable for those of us without SportsNetLA). Also, note no games on ESPN Sunday Night Baseball yet. We must not be playing the Giants on Sunday early on. There are no games scheduled after May 3 so far for Sunday Night baseball.

Note there are no games after August 8 on the national schedule. So we are awaiting late adds for ESPN and TBS. Here's the TBS terms:

• TBS would also air afternoon games with new co-existing rights on the final 13 Sundays of the regular season as part of the network’s Sunday MLB on TBS Game of the Week package.

So, I guess we wait until later in the season to find out if we make the cut for Sunday afternoon games.

Only the Cubs have a national contract, with WGN. So here's their schedule.

Click on this to find the channel locator for WGN at the top of the page. Note: we have 3 games on WGN, which I know DirecTV gets.

Most of us live in the Angels' area, since they are sucking off of our teat and it ain't that long. So we can access them and their awful not-talking-about-no-hitters announcers on Prime, FSW and KCOP (imagine that! 3 channels that you can watch the suckass Angels on). (Here's the channels that they are on, for each cable provider.)

PROJECTED NON-SNLA SCHEDULE:

Weds. April 8 vs. SD ESPN2
Weds. April 15 vs. Seattle ESPN
Sat. May 30 @ StL FOX

(MY BIG PREDICTION: Sun. June 21 vs. Jints, it's TBA, and it's one of only 2 Sunday games vs. them this year, so I'll guess they'll put it on Sunday night baseball)

Mon. June 22 @ Cubs WGN
Fri. July 3 vs. NYM ESPN
Sat. July 4 vs. NYM FOX
Sat. July 18 @ Washington FS1
Fri. July 31st vs. Angels ???
Sat. Aug. 1 vs. Angels FSN
Sun. Aug. 2 vs. Angels ???
Sat. Aug. 8 @ PIT FS1
Fri. Aug. 28 vs. Cubs WGN
Sat. Aug. 29 vs. Cubs WGN
Mon. Sep. 7 @Angels ???
Tues. Sep. 8 @Angels ???
Weds. Sep. 9 @Angels ???

Hot Damn! 16 games (17 if my BIG PREDICTION is correct) we can watch on our little boxes! That's OVER 10 percent! And the TBS thing (see above) might add some more Sunday games!

And, as always, we have Impy and Chimpy on the radio for the last 7 innings of every home game and California road games (and whoever else was dredged up to do ALL of the non-California road games)! Rick and Chuck have so much fun, you should listen! Didja know Mo' was the 1st ever draft pick in Major League History? Didja know Charlie can wash balls like a pro? (NOTE: my opinion on Rick and Chuck does not reflect SOSG's policies)

Whew! Thanks a ton for all the legwork, JB!

Thursday, March 19, 2015

Killeen Stalks Lasorda, Part 2

Scott Killeen focuses his lens on Tommy....

Wednesday, March 18, 2015

Killeen Stalks Lasorda, Part 1

Scott Killeen focuses his lens on Tommy....

Tuesday, March 17, 2015

Team Killeen Does Spring Training Again

Thanks to Scott Killeen for the spring training snaps!

Julio Urias.

Josh Ravin.

Ryan Buchter.

Chris Anderson.

Old friends catching up.

Monday, March 16, 2015

BFF

Thanks to Scott Killeen for these spring training snaps!

Friday, March 13, 2015

What You Missed Yesterday

Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.

Never going to get used to this.

Apparently Will Ferrell played some baseball yesterday. Why didn't they publicize it?

First of many.

Wednesday, March 11, 2015

Zackhood



Great job, Gnomes!

UPDATE: Picked up by MLB.com's Cut4!

ST Game 8 Thread: March 11 @ Cubs, 1p

Clayton Kershaw after yesterday's outing (3.0 IP, 3 H, 1 ER, 1 BB, 1 K).