Friday, October 21, 2011

And the Hardware Starts Rolling In

  • From a press release:
    Warren Spahn Award organizers announced today that Clayton Kershaw of the Los Angeles Dodgers is the 2011 Spahn Award winner.

    The Spahn Award is presented annually to the best left-handed pitcher in Major League Baseball and is based on a pitcher's wins, strikeouts and earned run average. Kershaw led in all categories with 21 wins, 248 strikeouts and a 2.28 ERA.

    "It is a genuine honor to have my named mentioned alongside one of the greatest lefties in the history of the game," Kershaw said. "Mr. Spahn accomplished so much both in baseball and in his life off the field. I am truly humbled by this award. Thank you."

    Greg Spahn, son of the late Warren Spahn, said this is the first time an award winner has placed first in every category since Randy Johnson won in the late 1990s.

    "Congratulations to Clayton Kershaw on an incredible season, leading all lefties with a 2.28 ERA," Spahn said. "In fact, he led in each category of the Warren Spahn Award, with the Dodgers a third place club in the National League West. I look forward to handing him the award."

  • From "Matt Kemp Wins 2011 NL Hank Aaron Award" by Eric Stephen at True Blue LA:
    Matt Kemp needs to clear more space on his mantel. The Dodgers center fielder is the winner of the 2011 National League Hank Aaron Award. Kemp is the first Dodger to win the award.

    The award has been given annually to the top offensive performer in each league since 1999, and is voted upon by members of the National Baseball Hall of Fame as well as fans. The panel of Hall of Famers this year included Aaron, Roberto Alomar, Joe Morgan, Tony Gwynn, Paul Molitor, Willie McCovey, Billy Williams and Robin Yount.

  • From @Dodgers:
    Congrats @skinnyswag9 on being selected as the shortstop on @BaseballAmerica's All-Rookie Team!


Dusty Baker's Toothpick said...

The hits keep on coming for the award worthy Dodgers. Is Troncoso up for any awards?

Jason said...

Pyromaniac of the decade?

Josh S. said...

Eugenio Velez won the Rank Errin' award for Most Offensive Player.